By: Precious Mills

BASSETERRE, ST.KITTS (Thursday 9th August 2018) –For yet another year, four St.Kitts-Nevis nationals have become recipients of the  Michael L. King Honorary Scholarship Grant provided by the TDC Group of Companies.

The 11th annual award presentation ceremony was held this morning at the TDC Training Room at its head office located on Fort Street in Basseterre.

The 2018 awardees are: Daniva Richards (Undergraduate: Human Services- Monroe College in the US); Sherma Sutton (Information Systems & Technology-University of the Virgin Islands) from St.Kitts and also Santonnya Mills (Accounting: Midwestern State University) and Acaidion Tyson (Criminology- University of Ontario Institute of Technology) from the sister isle of Nevis.

Scholarship awardees (Spokesman Snap)

Each has received the onetime lump sum funding of US$5,000 geared towards their academic funding.

Chairperson of the Michael L. King Scholarship Grant Committee Maritza Bowry (a TDC director) informed that this year, forty-three (43) applications- 10 from residents in Nevis and 33 from residents in St.Kitts – were received.

“Some of the applicants have begun their studies and others were recently accepted. The applicants are pursuing studies in various disciplines including psychology, accounting, construction management, economics, geography, political science, biology, international tourism and marketing, computer science, civil engineering, media and communication, sports management, criminal justice, health sciences, fashion and human resource management. However based on the rules of the grant, only two awardees are [two] from St.Kitts and two from Nevis.”

According to her: “The scholarship is intended to assist students who are desirous of pursuing full-time studies at the undergraduate level in areas which include but are not limited to architecture, accounting, agriculture, construction management, economics, engineering, pharmacology and information technology.”

“The award is opened to citizens of St.Kitts and Nevis who are resident in the Federation and who intend to return after completing their studies,” Bowry added.

The scholarship committee chairperson disclosed that to date, TDC has contributed US$ 220, 000 or EC$594,000 for tertiary education of forty- four (44) nationals of St.Kitts and Nevis.

“The vision of the TDC Group of Companies is to be the leading public company of the OECS. We believe that the investment in human capital is critical to our development. Helping to create stronger communities by investing in education is part of our corporate mandate,” she noted.

Scholarship awardees seen with employees of the TDC Group of Companies and members of the Michael L. King Scholarship Grant Committee including Chairperson Maritza Bowry and Dr. Clive Ottley (past committee chairperson) both seen second and third from left respectively as well as Senior Resources Officer Gloria Esdaille Robinson second from right end (Spokesman Snap)

Media information on Michael L. King states that the former TDC Director had been with the TC Group of Companies since its inception in 1973. Reportedly, he retired as Chairman and CEO in February 2011 and remained on the Board until February 2007.

Furthermore, it was shared that King now resides overseas but due to his dedication to further academic achievement, this scholarship was set up to commemorate his commitment to higher education and personal development.